10 posts categorized "Year In Review"

05 December 2014

Year in Review: 2014

It's that time again!

As I have done the last few many years sometime in December, it's time for a review of the year. I do it in words (the first sentence of the first post of each month) and in pictures (a favorite posted photo from each month) -- one is not necessarily related to the other.

January:

Rusty and I visited the local pub for a mug and a burger early last evening, planning to spend the rest of the evening in... quiet and cozy... because, baby, it's cold outside!

Junah1

February:

I am conflicted on which way to go with this post, so it's probably going to be all over the place!

Mom-Junah

March:

I saw the final five of nine Best Picture nominees on Saturday, and let me just say that a five-movie marathon is just about one too many for me!

Alabama-Mosaic-2014

April:

From a man's 4X pocket tee to a woman's boatneck swing top.

Moving-back

May:

April flew right by!

2014-05-25_1401036413

June:

Upon returning home from vacation, I immediately went over for some grandson snuggles!

Hands-of-love

July:

I decided to begin #100happydays on June 1st because I knew that it would be a tough summer.

TTL

August:

That's 61 so far!

Kids

September:

That's right! I'll reach #100happydays on Monday!

Mad-rn

October:

The Kaffe Fassett KAL started yesterday.

David-Bowie-Is

November:

Why, of course!

Cabin-from-loft

December:

December is only 3 days old and already so much has changed since the 1st. 

Christmas-1966

 

* * * * *

This is probably the most difficult Year In Review so far! From one extreme to the other emotionally in the first six months -- attending the birth of my first grandchild, present at my mother's passing -- working on recovery in the last.

Per my wise friend Claudia: "It's never all one thing, is it?"

How to limit my favorite photos to just one per month?! How not to have my favorite photo every month be of my grandson?

I haven't finished blogging about our May trip to Scotland. I'm going to try to do that by the end of the year. That's a good goal.

 

19 December 2013

Year In Review: 2013

It's that time again! As I've done the last few many years sometime in December, it's time for a review of the year. I do it in words (the first sentence of the first post of each month) and in pictures (a favorite posted photo from each month) -- one is not necessarily related to the other.

January:

The last knitting I did in 2012 was a hexagon.

01-January-Houston-airport-terminal
February:

I quickly passed through all of the airport security lines without problem, retrieved my luggage and peeled off the last little bit of "Wisconsin winter" clothing along in the process (except for the leggings and compression knee-highs, which, you can be assured, I took care of ASAP), looking for familiar faces... which I did not see!

02-February-Dois-Irmaos
March:

Perfect morning to head to the beach!

03-March-Cook-in-Rio
April:

Oh. {Hi! Yeah. So remember me? I used to knit.}

04-April-baby-knitting
May:

Obviously, I finished this months ago!

05-May-Roasted-Asparagus-and-Shrimp
June:

On the first of June, my irises bloomed!

06-June-Wedding-Day
July:

I didn't finish them in time for the wedding.

07-July-Mack-Vick-Addy
August:

Here's what's happening for me . . . Right Now!

08-August-Ali-Vicki-Kate
September:

It was not a bad day to be at the market yesterday.

09-September-Wedding-Shawls
October:

When Ali messaged me a few weeks ago that she didn't have anyone available to work the market with me on a particular Saturday, my wheels immediately started in motion.

10-October-Farmer-Market
November:

Day 1. I haven't officially signed on (yet), but it seems a shame not to participate in National Blog Posting Month (NaBloPoMo) for the fifth straight year -- even though I'm crazy busy today and nothing is coming together on-the-fly quite as I'd like.

11-November-Chevron-Baby-Blanket-Purl-Bee
December:

While I could have drowned Ali with the handknits at her baby shower, I decided to include only the projects I've started *and* finished since learning about Zim!

12-December-Baby-Shower
* * * * *

I like how I stretched the posting of a mid-January week-long visit to Rio all the way into March! That's the way to make a vacation last!! I also travelled in '13 to Chicago and Door County with various of my girls, as well as get-aways to Milwaukee and Lake Geneva with Rusty.

Ali's wedding was the definite highlight of the year! It was so much fun -- and I guess, having just finished that little photo book, that I must like to stretch out and savor the good stuff. Ha.

The baby knitting sort of took over the second half of the year, and now I'm concentrating on hats while I wait for a baby to be born!

 

 

12 December 2012

Year in Review: 2012

It's that time again. As I've done the last few years sometime in December, it's time for a review of the year in words (the first sentence of the first post of each month) and in pictures (a favorite posted photo from each month) -- one is not necessarily related to the other.

January:

018-of-366

I've done a little bit of a bunch of stuff today...

February:

057-of-366

Fresh, new dishcloths and towels in bright colors and I am over the moon... more than I should be about such things, but there you go.

March:

image from www.flickr.com

Month #2/February of Project 366 (2012) is over!

April:

image from www.flickr.com

CHICAGO!! *

May:

Lookin' out my back door (at the other back door)

Ten on Tuesday: 10 Items Pinned to Your Bulletin Board / I could ask which one... 

June:

Web2012-06-16 16.12.51

I've done very few Knit-Alongs (KALs) in my years of "online" knitting.

July:

Web-IMG_2941

And this will be the last portrait of siblings for a while. **

August:

Web-2012-08-25 07.36.36

As I searched through the stash for something the other day one of the things (not THE thing) briefly acknowledged as it quickly passed in and out of my hands was a bag holding chosen yarn and a pattern for mittens.

September:

Web-2012-09-18 14.45.58

This morning, I thought of the greatest title for this post that I wasn't ready to sit down and write.

October:

Vic-Ang_10-25-12

After breakfast and some in-town doings on Wednesday morning, we drove up the Gunflint Trail.

November:

My McGunnegle

This is Eisig-Warm. ***

December:

2012-12-07_1354898591

Favor first: Would you mind clicking over to Small Business Big Wishes and casting a vote for Alison's wish for new windows at Kaukauna Coffee & Tea?

* * * * *

* I actually went to Chicago twice in 2012 (three times if O'Hare and back counts)... and to Minnesota's North Shore... and to the Bay Area of California. It was a pretty good year for getting out and about.

** The possibility of a sibling portrait redux could happen again this holiday season. Ann & her family are flying in on Christmas Eve and will be here a third of the way through January -- returning home**** not much before I fly down there! The most unusual of holidays that I was anticipating... is still going to be one of the most unusual holidays ever.

*** That is not Eisig-Warm, it's My McGunnegle!

**** Brazil!

Welcome to my weird world.

 

15 December 2011

Year in review: 2011

It's that time again. As I've done the last few years sometime in December, it's time for a review -- in words (the first sentence of the first post of each month) and in pictures (one favorite posted photo from each month), one not necessarily related to the other.

January:

January
Though the weather wrecked travel plans for some, we had a nice gathering last night for New Year's Eve and for remembering Sharon.

.

February:

February
Ten on Tuesday: 10 Things On Your Nightstand/Bedside Table / 1. Firstly, it's a bookshelf and so there are lots of books -- books are on it, books are in it and, until recently, books were leaning up against it.

.

March:

Web-IMG_5678
Ten on Tuesday: 10 Things to Like About the Month of March / 1. My brother's birthday is on...

.

April:

Web-IMG_6295
Mares eat oats and does eat oats and little lambs eat ivy. A kid'll eat ivy, too. Wouldn't you?

.

May:

Web-IMG_5825
Red numbers, too.

.

June:

image from www.flickr.com
Charlee!

.

July:

Just beginning

Not me (not yet).

.

August:

Web-IMG_9738
Stripe Study Shawl by Veera Välimäki

.

September:

Utah copy
...blew through here this morning, making the rain "fall" sideways, and it was sorta scary!

.

October:

image from www.flickr.com
Not only did I get to visit Silver Lake with Margene (one week ago today!), I was also able to photograph a fresh Different Lines there with Margene as my model!

.

November:

image from www.flickr.com
I finally knit up the yellow test skeins for my PS Square Project and managed to get them photographed while there was still some light on Saturday afternoon.

.

December:

Nice and simple

I have some yarn in shades of blue for Margene in case she wants to start Knitting the Weather, or something, next month... or sometime.

.

I've expanded my horizons in more ways than one. It's been quite a year... and it ain't over yet.

15 December 2010

In review: 2010

As I've done the last few years sometime in December, it's time for a review -- in words (the first sentence of the first post of each month) and in pictures (one favorite posted photo from each month), one not necessarily related to the other.

image from www.flickr.com
January:  Haha!  I just read my post from last January 1st and I'm thinkin' that a New Year's Day nap is well on the road to tradition.

Web-IMG_6063
February:  Randomly.  Heh.  It's only been five days, but for a near-daily blogger -- in blog years -- it seems much longer.

Web-IMG_2641

March:  (He ain't heavy) ...he's my brother.

Web-IMG_7086
April:  Dawn, my cookie lady, made an appearance on local morning TV this week.

Web-IMG_8417

May:  The babies part was fun; the bugs, not so much.

DSC09932

June:  The fish-eye goes back to BorrowLenses.com today.

Web-0701101852a

July:  (Knitting strips of stripes) ...it's like eating candy.

Web-IMG_0556

August:  This is not a definitive arrangement, by any means.

Liam 
September:  As of late this afternoon, I have finished knitting the strips!

Observe

October:  The production of knitted goods 'round here ain't what it used to be, but the act of knitting, to some degree, is done nearly every single day.

Go Cal!

November:  There's always the photography and always the knitting, but they don't seem to mash up as often as they should these days!

Grandparents

December:  Parcheesi, designed by Feral Knitter Janine.

It's been quite a year, folks.  Thanks, as always, for reading, writing, encouraging, praying, loving, being, doing... everything.

17 December 2009

In review: 2009

As I've done the last few years sometime in December, it's time for a review -- in words (the first sentence of the first post of each month) and in pictures (one favorite posted photo from each month), one not necessarily related to the other.

January:  Maddy's not usually so willing a model, so I wouldn't hold my breath thinking you'll see her here tomorrow for the Happy Trifecta.

Can you see me now?

February:  I met up with some local Flickr peeps for a winter photo walk at a local park yesterday.

Ali's back

March:  I know that "spring" is a few weeks off yet, but it's MARCH and we're getting CLOSE and I took the Christmas wreath off the door and replaced it with THIS today!!

Circles in wool & cotton; the desert (with purple mountain's majesty) and the forest

April:  I finally got this hat in the mail to my sister yesterday.

Cat Bordhi

May:  Have I mentioned how much I love these boys?

(Toughest month to choose a photo so far -- it's SPRING!)

At the beach - tiltshift

June:  The Empire Builder didn't pull into Columbus until about 5:30 last night and I still had to get all my stuff together at my sister's and face the hour-and-a-half drive home.

Maddy_6-3-09
July:  Maddy had one of her occasional episodes of spontaneous cleaning yesterday.

(This is hard!)

Canvas-holders
August:  It's one of those Mondays that can get you down, but I'm going to try hard to focus on the positive and maybe I'll find some strength to deal with the rest.

Yellow-house
September:  I called my sister Sharon (pictured above on August 13, 1975, with Uncle Bob) (I hope they don't mind my posting it) on Saturday while on the way home from delivering Maddy to college.

Little-piggies
 October:  I just joined Norma's Alert The Media Rav_link group.

IMG_3525-proof
November:  Today's the day. 

Noro-entrelac
(Um, oh yeah, this started as a knitting blog!)

December:  HAPPY HOLIDAYS!

Ali-smile
And there we have it, 2009 is nearly a done deal.  There were a lot of changes around here.  2010 is fast approaching -- one can only guess at what's in store.  Here we go... wheeeeeee!

30 December 2008

It's about time... let's review: 2008

As I've done the last couple of years at this time of year, it's time for a little year-in-review -- in words (the first sentence of the first post of each month) and in pictures (one favorite posted photo from each month), not necessarily related to each other.

DSC01888

January:  Get your cameras ready!!

Cara Baby

February:  I was flipping through channels yesterday while cleaning up the kitchen and stumbled across a rebroadcast of the Republican debate from the night before -- it wasn't long before I flipped channels some more, but this caught my attention for a few minutes.

Hardware Store

March:  I've been savoring my weekend.

DSC02344_0113

April:  I had a great time at cooking class last night.

NicoletHands

May:  It's Saturday Sky!

Near Waterloo

June:  VIOLA, cornuta, Black Devil.

Cuteness personified

July:  Inspired.

Birds Fly

August:  Continuing a very busy weekend, I'm on my way to Madison today in a borrowed van to haul the big stuff from Katie's apartment.

Red yarn

September:  Juno Regina!

Partial evidence

October:  It was a good day, especially since I was a little down in the dumps yesterday.

Three out of four

November:  I had a TERRIBLE FRIGHT!

What's in store

December:  Honest to god, I have so much more to say.

13 December 2007

Let's review: Pictures 2007

01january_2Continuing yesterday's "year in review" theme, I've chosen one posted photograph from each month of the year.  These are not the BEST photographs from each month, they're the ones that sing to me for one reason or another, or make me smile.

It's not as easy as it looks -- there were some months that it was tough to choose only one, and others that I just had to close my eyes and just pick one already.  I was reminded of a "game" I used to play with my sisters and the Sears, Penney's and Wards catalogs -- not only the Christmas catalogs, sometimes the big ones, too.  I'd sit with a sister and we'd go through the catalog page-by-page; we'd each have to pick something we'd want from "our" pages -- if I was sitting on the right, I could only choose from items on a right-hand page, if I was sitting on the left... or sometimes we'd switch it up and could only chose from the others' pages.  Well, anyway, here are my photo pics for the year.

January -- I love this picture; I was showing DH how I can take a self-portrait with my camera phone (or a portrait of us both!).

02february_2 03march_2

February -- St. Brigid's sleeves get lengthened.

March -- Kind of crude, but it makes me laugh; it's one of the elements I made and used for my brother's birthday card.

04april_2 05may_3 

April -- Let there be peas on earth!

May -- I love this photo of Mack, wearing his new baby a sweater, playing in the back yard.

06june_2 07july_3

June -- Lilies-of-the-valley nightcaps!  This is one that if the neighbors were watching when the photo was taken, they might wonder about me.

July -- Special Swap!  This was my first and favorite Special Swap.  My partner, the theme, the idea, the timing, all the pieces -- everything came together perfectly.  It was pure joy to make this tray for Lynne.

08august 09september

August -- Addison arrives.  (God, I love babies.)

September -- It's football season!  (I love toddlers, too.)

10october 11november

October -- Multi-tasking Saartje's Bootees.

November -- Opal Socks Hundertwasser Der Blaue Mond as Argosy scarf.  This was one of my favorite things to knit all year.  I love the idea and inspiration for this yarn, love the colors, love how they work in this pattern -- I wear this scarf a lot, and other people seem to love it, too.  I would like to make another.

12decemberDecember -- Here's a glimpse into the future, because this picture hasn't actually been posted yet.  These are two little Odd Fellows made this month and sent off, in a PIF sort of way, with upsized Santa Hats on their heads.  I hope they make a couple of kids very happy.  The one on the left is for a young girl, the one on the right for a little boy; favorite colors as specified by their mothers.  I had so much fun making these.  I can't look at them and NOT smile.  XO.

Y'all let me know if you "review," too, eh?

12 December 2007

Let's review: Words 2007

I did this meme last year, thanks (again) to Celia, and put my own spin on it by adding a favorite photo from each month.  This year, I'm going to spin my own spin and make it two separate posts:  a Words edition and a Photos edition.  Photos yet to come.

The first sentence of each first post of the month for 2006 (just not able to stop spinning, I've included the title of each post):

January

Red buttons:  My last FO for 2006 was another Calorimetry.

February

Post pourri:  Well, this was just going to be a little on-line note to myself about things I wanted to mention, elaborate on, think about and/or link to, but it took off!

March

Just a few things:  Carrie referenced the BigAlice List of Positives in her comment to my last post.

April

Monday, Monday:  ...can't trust that day.

May

Great Expectations:  Well, I ended up a bit long-winded today... there's knitting stuff at the end.

June

My pretties:  That's what's become of the iris bud I posted a little while back.

July

It's a Miracle...:  ...a Miracle Sweet!

August

Late bloomer:  I met with the director of a program I'm interested in (she's a late-bloomer, too) -- very interested in, as in, I think I might know what I want to be when I grow up -- at my local technical college today, and I have applied for school.

September

Winners at hand:  Ooops, it's Tuesday already!

October

Smitten + Mitered + Mittens = Smiterittens:  Look at that!

November

Maddy Mouse & holiday musing:  She's more ham than mouse.  ; )

December

SoSuMe:  I know, NaBloPoMo is over.

17 December 2006

Year in review: 2006

Thank you, Celia.  (Because it should not be missed, I'm linking to Celia's Unrequited Love podcast at Quirky Nomads, too.  It's a great story, and so wonderful to hear her voice!  I was hoping for a little yodel at the end, but I guess that's part of another story.)

01The first sentence of each first post of the month for 2006 (one picture from every month, in order, is my addition):

January

Happy New Year!

February

On Friday morning, Maddy tried to "wake up" our main computer.

March

I saw my brother today, but he didn't see me.

02 03 04

April

I forgot to mention yesterday that among my chores, right between stopping at work and stopping at the bank, was a stop at the DMV to finish what Alison had started, but could not complete, the day before.

05May

We did a little rummaging on Saturday and this is part of my haul from a sale at the home of the couple who own an antique mall in our area (not the one at which I occasionally fill in) -- it was bargain day!

June

Ina sent this "Iris Garden" Lorna's Laces, the yarn that my Individuals won for me, basically, in the ABC-Along "I" Contest.

July

There isn't any fruit on my cherry tomato yet; I've got it in a hanging basket at the south end of the back porch.

August

If you click on the picture on the left and look to the left of the white truck, you will see a dark shape on the horizon, also known as Rib Mountain.

06 07 08

09September

Katie had to be to work at 5 this morning, and Ali at 6:30; it's Maddy's first day of school, which would normally start at around 8, but only the lowly freshmen have to go so early on the first day of school.

10October

This is one of two mini Faroese shawls I made yesterday from the top down.

November

a.k.a. The Pergola Project.

December

God, I love the internet.

11 12 It's been quite a year.  ; )

My Photo

My Other Accounts

Facebook Flickr Google Plus Instagram Follow Me on Pinterest Rav_link
free short rows knitting class at craftsy.com
Online Knitting Class
Blog powered by TypePad
Member since 03/2004
Victoria Mothes (knitorious) participates in affiliate advertising programs. Some of the links herein are designed to provide a means to earn a small percentage in advertising fees.